Whoops…MIA

Looks like I’ve been a little slack on the posts lately. I think it’s because with all of the Christmas shopping I’ve been doing my debt has been going up instead of down. All in all I have done pretty well though, I set a budget for each person and have stuck to it. The only person I haven’t finished my shopping for is my wonderful BF who won’t make up his damn mind about what he’d like! Ideally I will have my Christmas shopping paid for my mid December in time to put my Christmas Bonus on my student loan.

I’ve decided to focus my attention on paying off my National student loan first. The balance is the smallest and the interest is low but for the moment I see this as an attainable goal. I am going to try to find a way to add a debt repayment column to the blog homepage similar to the one on http://www.bloggingawaydebt.com . I agree that it is smart to pay off the debt with the highest interest first, however I need a little motivation and I believe that knocking out one of my loans will motivate me to keep paying off those higher balances.

BF and I have also been talking a lot about the “future” so I have also opened a saving account for certain “future events” that may be quite costly. Really this account is one that my part-time job’s pay cheques are directly deposited into. So far since allocating my pay to the “future fund” I haven’t spent out of it at all. I have found that having a goal in mind has helped dramatically. “No! You don’t need that bagel from Timmy’s, you want a super awesome dress later!”.

I’m going to gather all of my debt totals together and make a separate post on my debt as it currently stands

 

 

Leave a Reply

