Snowflakes? Well…this is Canada, eh…

textbooks

I’ve noticed the concept of “snowflaking” on a few different debt repayment/ personal finance blogs. For me this means any income you acquire that is not from your regular employer, no matter how small the amount. You then apply these little “snowflakes” to your debt. I have come up with a few different ideas of ways to earn additional income this month.

I am going to try selling my textbooks back to buy back websites. So far I have tried  bookbyte.com and in total they say they are willing to offer be $125 for a few of my books (total). This site advertises cheque or paypal deposit and free shipping. I decided to try this with one textbook first and see how it goes. So far I have discovered that they do not provide free shipping in Canada (damn!) I wonder if I were to drop this off at a FedEx depot in the states if it would work? I live relatively close to the border and go down a few times a year and could always arrange to have a few textbooks ready to go when I do. I’ll have to check into this! I decided to try it anyway and see how much the shipping costs me. So here we go with attempt #1…my Current Psychotherapies textbook is all wrapped in a box and shipping paper waiting for the provided label to be attached and sent. They say they will send me a $30 cheque for this book.

I have also listed a few dresses on a local Facebook group and I do have a $13 balance waiting for me on surveylion.com but I usually wait for $20 to cash those babies out.

Hopefully my little “snowflakes” help make a giant snow boulder!!

I get paid this Thursday and will be updating the budget/ debt repayment schedules shortly!

Leave a Reply

