Raise

A few posts ago I mentioned that I would be receiving a small raise on my next pay. I have worked it out and it’s going to increase my monthly income by about $70. Not a huge difference but really I’ll take what I can get.

I am contemplating renewing my gym membership now that I have a little more to work with. At my job our gym membership with Goodlife works out to about $9 per pay or $18 per month. This would still give me $50 extra a month to put toward debt repayment. I’m a little torn, I just want to KNOW it would be worth it and that I would go. It’s very easy to say now “yes! I will go 2-3x per week!” but then life happens and I already work 13hr days twice a week and you know…kinda hard to get a ring on my finger if I don’t see my boyfriend sometime!

What do you guys think? How do you balance gym time and work time?

8 thoughts on “Raise

  1. Hi,
    I read that you should spend half of your raise and save the rest. This way you can enjoy some of it while also being careful not to let lifestyle inflation creep up. I am more of the thought that I was doing fine with out so I save 100% of it unless I have debt in which case the raise will go towards that. I think I gym membership sounds like a good plan since it’s an investment in yourself. It would surprise you to know that working out actually energizes you. If you can’t work out after work, try going before. If you stick to a routine you’ll see that you will miss working out, your body will miss it.

  2. Congrats on the raise! Every little bit helps 🙂 On the gym front, I just make it a priority. No excuses!! I don’t let myself get “talked out of it” by myself. I just go.

  3. Congrats on your raise! You’re right that every bit helps!

    I joined a gym in January (how unique, I know!), but put my membership on hold for the summer. I t was costing me almost $50 per month, and I was only going 2-3 times per month. I’m running outside now, and I really enjoy it. But I know I’ll never keep up with the outdoor running after, say October, so I’ll be reactivating it then. So, like Debt Debs, I wonder if you could hold off until the cooler weather arrives. But if you think the membership will truly make the difference between going and not, do it. Exercise really is so important, and just like with money, every little bit helps. 🙂

  4. Wow!! Thanks for all the feedback guys, this is amazing ❤ I think I'm going to do a little of both, I have a great workout DVD (30-Day Shred) of workouts that fit well in a busy schedule. I think I'm going to try and stick to those 2-3x per week as well as outdoor activities and revisit the gym membership when the weather cools down a bit….September is sadly only 8 weeks away…

  5. I think it’s a great idea to see if you can stick to the 2-3X a week workout for a free for a while first and then spring for the gym membership. You should check with your employer and health care plan to see if either of them reimburse or offer discounts for going to the gym – some do.
    Congrats on the raise! That’s always exciting!

  6. I’m late to the party and I think you’ve decided, but for the record, I’d put the whole thing towards debt and get outside exercise while the weather is good. I think unless you have a foolproof plan for how you’re going to make good use of it, people rarely get that much use out of gym memberships, so you might as well save the whole thing. And congrats on it, by the way!

Leave a Reply

