Cross Border Shopping

It’s that time of year again. Christmas is coming and I would really like to get all my shopping done early. My goal for this year is to have my shopping done and paid for before I receive my Christmas bonus from work (this will probably be December 11th). Then I will use my bonus to put on debt and also to pay one of the winter heating bills for BF who normally pays them without complaining…too much.

BF and I have decided to head down to the US to get some shopping done and take advantage of some good deals. I am the proud owner of a mailbox down there so if we do order online, we can take advantage of cheap ‘Merican shipping (seriously though, how do you guys always manage to get free shipping for things?!). We are heading down Remembrance Day weekend (I have the 10th booked off as a vacation day), we plan on staying there 2 nights so that we can bring up toΒ $800 each back across. This weekend is very popular for Canadians crossing the border so hopefully retailers will have lots of specials for us!

I’m not worried about the money I will spend shopping for others and shopping for myself as well as this is what part of my 52 weeks of savings was for. What I’m worried about is the cost of hotels and food while we’re there. Do you guys have any tips and tricks for traveling? I do have a CAA membership and can often get a deal that way.

I’m also in the process of bringing back my status bars on the side, if anyone could help a sista out getting the plugin to work it would be much appreciated.

13 thoughts on “Cross Border Shopping

  1. Oh boy, I totally forgot about Christmas gifts…Thanks for the reminder though! And happy hunting – er, I mean, shopping! πŸ˜€

    Just general tips for eating out without paying more: Go out for lunches instead of dinners, stop at a farmer’s market or grocery store and pick up produce for snacks, order appetizers or small plates instead of full dinner entrees.

  2. I had no idea free shipping was a US thing! Nor that Canadians came down to shop over a holiday weekend. Very interesting stuff…

    Oh, I’m sure this goes without saying, but drinking water at restaurants saves a lot!

    • Lol Canada doesn’t have free shipping near as often as the US. I get so excited “free shipping this weekend!” then in very small print “US residents only”. I do go down on regular weekends too but long weekends allow me to stay the 48hours and have a bigger allowance at the border (24 hours is $200 a person and no alcohol can be brought back).

      Thanks for commenting πŸ™‚

  3. When I saw the title of your post… I immediately thought about mexico. Completely forgot you were from Canada for a sec. and I didnt know about the free shipping either. I hope you find a lot of bargains out here. Happy Shopping =)

    • Hi Janeesa, I will be spending Remembrance Day as I do every year remembering what my country has done and continues to do for me so I may continue to live my life as a free citizen. I was planning on going shopping that weekend since the timing works well for me πŸ™‚ It falls on a Tuesday so I will be back by then.

Leave a Reply

