September Budget Recap

Ok! So here is my budget recap for September. I wish I was one of those people who tracked every penny in a beautiful excel spreadsheet, it would make putting together a post like this so much easier instead of scrambling and trying to figure out where all my money went and what percentage of my income that was! I had a few unexpected expenses this month like a trip to the dentist and I broke a pair of shoes that needed to be replaced (no, I cannot live without a pair of closed round toe back pumps…if I had an emergency fund, this would have been an emergency – ok not really but it was bad).

pie chart actualpiechart sept

As you can see the biggest difference was my “other” category. Bleh! However I did manage to contribute more into savings that I had planned. Yay!

Financial Goals for September:

-Stay out of the overdraft in Bank #2’s account – Big fat fail…

-Pay for everything out of Bank #1’s account – Also a big fat fail…

-Contribute $155 to 52 weeks of savings – PASS!

-Make extra money by selling things online/writing a post – PASS! I made and extra $30

-10 no spend days – PASS! I stopped counting after 10 days…sorry.

-Have $4000 total paid by September 18th!! – Pass!

Well 4/6 isn’t terrible. That’s like a B- which I shall take!

There has been something that has been on my mind a lot recently about my part-time job. I really don’t know how much longer I want to keep it. I had originally said I would work there until my Visa is paid off or until I am married (I work in a jewelry store and can get discounts on bands, diamonds, etc.). I haven’t worked since Wednesday the 24th and I’m not in until Thursday the 2nd. Yesterday after work I: stopped and picked up milk, chicken, yogurt, and snacks. Picked something up for supper. Painted the trim in the spare bedroom (painted the walls Sunday). Did two loads of laundry. Vacuumed the living room. Got caught up with Bones. Snuggled with my BF & kitty. Made my lunch and was in bed my 10. I WAS SO PRODUCTIVE! It’s so much easier to get things done and have the energy to do things after I work my 9-5 when I’m not exhausted from a 13 hour day the day before. However, thanks to my part-time job I made an extra $700 this month and I’m not prepared to give that up just yet. BF and I don’t share finances yet. Currently my 9-5 income would be a perfectly fine secondary income but it’s a little tight to be paying all of my bills and still paying down debt and saving. I’m still unsure of when I would be comfortable going down to only one income, but I know it would be GREAT to not have to turn things down all the time or miss activities (like hockey, which I am paying for) because I had to work. PT job current helps me contribute to my “future fund” as well, another reason I wanted to keep it until I get married. Decisions, decisions…

14 thoughts on “September Budget Recap

  1. I would keep it for a while longer. It will help you pay off things a bit faster and give you a discount in the future when you are ready to become a Mrs. 🙂

  2. I have been thinking of getting a PT job to accelerate the debt payment. I have been looking now since there will be a lot of retailers opening up positions for the holidays. I would love to have that extra $700 in my pocket!

    Good job on September savings!

  3. Nicely done on the PT/Side hustle income! *High Fives*
    Whatever you decide to do in regards to keeping the gig, you’ve definitely made a great example for the rest of us 😀

      • Woah! That’s a great streak!

        Maybe it’s not so much that you should drop your second job as find one that will help you grow/challenge/engage you a little differently? Sometimes a change in setting or daily tasks can make life a little more enjoyable.

        I love logging in to see your posts in my inbox, btw – it’s always awesome to read how you’re doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

