Overtime Opportunity

The opportunity has come up at my FT job to work overtime. Currently it is being offered at time and a half with a maximum of 6-8hrs per week per person. I’m pretty excited because this will give me the chance to make some extra money in the Christmas season (and after that too…).

The Dilemma

I currently work 2 shifts a week at PT job. I also have minimum 2 ice times a week. I still want to have time to actually see my boyfriend. As we get closer to Christmas I will be working more at PT job and my boss at FT job has already said overtime will not be available for the week before, of, and after Christmas so that no one feels required to be working more when they should be with family/friends etc. I was considering dropping PT job and working the 8 hours of overtime at FT job only however the overtime availability is only for a year.

The Game Plan

BF and I are going to have a little chat tonight about the overtime. I know I’ll be working at least some but I want to know where he stands and how he feels about it since I’m already not home very much until late. I’ve already decided since it’s hockey season to have a monthly calendar on the fridge with my PT job shifts, hockey ice times, and what I plan on working for overtime so he can see what my schedule will look like for the month. I’m excited to see that weekends will also be available for overtime so I could work a few Saturday/Sunday mornings and still have the afternoons and evening to spend with him.

I’m planning on using overtime money for Christmas shopping for the time being, since my 52 weeks of savings has gone away. When Christmas is over I plan on sharing the money between savings/emergency fund.

Next week is the first week for over time so I’ll keep you all updated with how it goes! Any suggestions on how to make sure I still have down time/ time with friends & family?

8 thoughts on “Overtime Opportunity

  1. I was in the same position last year. Was offered a 6month contract by my FT job. I took it without hesitation, of course, because I had debt to pay off.

    I paid my debt off alright. However, I was working until 2/3 am most nights, having to be at work at 9am the next day. Fridays and Sundays were always spent working, most Saturdays as well.

    This was doable though because I was working from home. So I was able to “spend time” with the bf and family… But really, I was glued to my laptop.

    I even spent the Christmas holidays stressing over my wifi connection, or lack thereof. (I was up in a cabin in the Poconos).

    I was burnt out by the end of it.

    Would I do it again? YES! I was able to pay off my student loan completely, top off my emergency fund, have some fun money, and send a portion to my retirement accounts.

    I miss it to be honest… The flexibility in budgeting. Because right now, I’m back to my regular income and it’s tight, barely any room for much savings goals!

    It’s all about balance I suppose. Best of luck! 🙂

  2. Working in the mornings and spending the afternoon and evenings seems to be more efficient with you handling your part time work. Great job btw with scheduling that also with the sports schedule – I think you both will enjoy your time together (and cheaply) doing something you both love!

  3. I’m with Kayla – sneaking in a couple hours on Saturday/Sunday morning before your bf gets up and going (or while he’s out doing his own weekend things) might be the smart move, schedule wise. Keep us posted, and good luck!

Leave a Reply

