My Favorite Books

Here I am once again hunkered down in a snow storm. The city has pulled the plows off of the roads due to white out conditions and I can’t see myself getting out of the driveway today! On days like today I always have good intentions of getting so many things done like laundry, a work out, organize my closet, get a few posts written and ready to go. It never seems to work out that way though. So far I’ve watched a movie, taken a shower, watched a few episodes of gossip girl, made a smoothie and now here I am! To be honest I’m currently re-starting Once Upon A Time because how could a book lover like me not get into a show with a title like that! In honor of the occasion I thought I’d share a few of my favorite reads with all of you!

The inspiration for this post came when I stumbled upon Amanda’s 10 Books That Left an Impression on Me check it out!

1.I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
One year for Christmas a good friend of mine walked into a bookstore and found the biggest novel on the sale table (we were about 14 so you know, funds were limited). This booked into my go-to feel good book. Break ups, bad grades, bad colds, nothing ever seems as bad after I finish re-reading the story of Cassandra and her broken down castle of a home.

2. The Harry Potter Series
Obviously. How could you not love them? I plan on re-reading these bad boys after my retirement from my part time job. It doesn’t matter how old I get, I still love these books and have been known from time to time to call my boyfriend a muggle when he’s being impossible.

3. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
This was a tough one. Really I love anything by Jane Austen but Sense and Sensibility was the first one I read and the first one I fell in love with. Since then I’ve read each Austen book as well as many books written by fans about Elizabeth and Mr.Darcy as well as many other characters from Austen’s novels.

4. Anything by Nora Roberts
I spent years teasing my sister for readying romance novels. The one summer laying by the pool I picked one up and haven’t put them down since. I’m mostly into the trilogy’s and series. Tons of the books are set in Ireland which is somewhere I’ve always wanted to visit.

5. A High End Finish by Kate Carlisle
Ok so maybe this is a favorite by proxy. I finished it a few days ago but I really enjoyed the main character Stephanie Hammer (a contractor..lol!) and went out and bought another of her books (I know, I know…no buying books! You don’t need them! You have a whole bookcase of books you haven’t read yet!). I do recommend it for an easy girly read though if that’s what you’re in the market for.

What are you reading?

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Books

  1. Awesome! I love reading but feel I don’t read enough. I read Around the World in 80 Dates years ago and to this day I still love it. It’s about a 20 or maybe 30-something year old from England who travels the world on 80 blind dates set up by her colleagues. It’s a true story and an easy, girly read.

Leave a Reply

