On The Road Again and Bad Habits

Alright! My bags are packed and I’m heading out again this afternoon. I’m fortunate enough that when I go to functions for work my hotel, mileage, food, and everything is paid for so it doesn’t eat up my own money. Just time and sanity.

I hate to admit it but I’ve fallen into a bad habit that many Canadians fall into at one point in their lives or another. It’s roll up the rim season. Sure, at first it was a coffee here or a hot chocolate there but now it’s turned into a breakfast every morning type of deal. I have been luckier this RUTR season than I have in the past but what a hard habit to break!

What are some great breakfasts to grab from home and go?

10 thoughts on “On The Road Again and Bad Habits

  1. I bought a Tim’s coffee on the way home from Halifax on Tuesday, and I had wishfully thought “hey, maybe I have the car”… I won an opportunity to please play again 🙂

    As for breakfasts, if I am not going to eat oatmeal, I grab a homemade muffin from the freezer and a banana. I back my muffins full of protein so that it fills me up until lunch, even if it sounds like a crummy (ha!) breakfast.

  2. I’ll do muffins like Alicia, or I’ll make ‘egg bites’ (eggs mixed with veggies baked in a muffin tin) which are super easy to reheat and chow down on. Somedays I’m feeling busy and I’ll do peanut butter on toast as I’m running out the door lol!
    You can also make a batch of pancakes or waffles and then chuck them in a toaster as you get dressed/ready for the day – that worked really well for me for a while!

  3. Ahh! Roll up the Rim… so rumour has it that Tim Horton’s saw their coffee sales plunging in February/March/April and they did some research into why. Turns out it was because people were giving up coffee for lent, so they came up with a marketing plan (Roll up the Rim) to encourage people to drink coffee to ensure sales were steady. CRAZY!!! I have only bought 1 to-go coffee in the last few weeks and didn’t win. No one in my office has won either (even the daily Tim’s drinkers).
    I usually make an English Muffin with peanut butter for breakfast – simple, fast and warm and easy to take to work if I don’t eat it at home.

    • That’s funny! I never knew that. Last year a co-worker and I gave up buying our lunches for lent (my office is attached to 2 shopping centres and a market) and we continued to do so for a while after, bringing our lunches was healthier and saved money even if it took a bit longer to prepare.

  4. I’m not a coffee drinker, so I haven’t really ever been a regular Timmy’s go-er… But I know many people are.
    My go-to breakfast is typically oatmeal, but that’s not really a grab and go type meal. Muffins, fruit or a smoothie are my other breakfast options. I might try and cook up a few hard-boiled eggs at the beginning of the week and grab those, because I think I need to up my protein intake.

Leave a Reply

